Spyderco Factory Visit

In 2005 I got married and my wonderful wife recommended we used our honeymoon to go to Colorado to visit Spyderco HQ and see what else the Golden area has to offer to tourists. How could I refuse?

Driving on the I-95 north out of Golden we passed this tiny sign (below left) and we followed its instructions. Passing the building pictured in the middle we wondered if that was ‘it’. We found out later that it was used for ‘special projects’ ;-). Making our way to the main parking lot in front of the factory we noticed another hint that we were in the right spot…

  

Note the license plates on this SUV. The Spydercrew uses this car for attending knifeshows that can be reached by car. Turning around we saw the large Spyderco sign in all its glory, we were at the ‘source’! The font and lettering on the facade was in the style of the old white boxes (packaging), while the doormat featured the design on the grey knife boxes.

  

The reception desk and the waiting area for visitors on the right. Notice all the knife awards, there were lots. Behind the reception desk is a large atrium filled with plants and…

  

…plenty of plaques on the wall. Some were donations like this one in the middle from the SEALs. Apparently SEAL Team 5 carries serrated edge. The glass ornament was made by a local artist. It’s visible from this window in the atrium looking into the Outlet Store.

  

The second floor features offices and the walls are adorned by a lot of patents. Sal tinkers with more than just knives, and I use the term ‘tinkering’ carefully. The center picture shows a view on the reception desk from the second floor. My picture taking pretty much ended at the front door of the Outlet Store (right). I wanted both hands free to sample all the knives!

  

I will confess that I was in the passenger seat on our drive back to the hotel. I needed my hands free to peek into all the little boxes I bought and to go through all the catalogs and magazines! I paused to take this picture close to the entry on the I-95. Spyderco is located on 820 Spyderco Way.

The visit was great! I can really recommend this part of Colorado, even without visiting Spyderco HQ. The surrounding mountains and towns were really nice. The food was awesome and the tour of the Coors factory included plenty of free and full size samples!

Leave a Reply

