Review: Salt I SE Yellow

When the Salts first came out, I didn’t think much of them. This is mainly because of the way I care for my knives basically precludes rust. My knives never rusted before, so why get a knife that won’t rust? A small time later I figured out my niche for this unique folder. As you may know by now, I like to select a spydie for every occasion and swimming is the right activity for this rust-slaying steel! When the ’05 catalog came out, I was immediately hooked by those yellow Salts. Not only am I a sucker for knives for every occasion, I am an even bigger sucker for brightly colored spydies! The choice was made, and as soon as the yellow Salts became available I snatched one up.

salt_spyderco

General
I deliberately picked a plain edge variation, since I figured it would also make a better travel knife. The brightly colored handle and blunt tip, just says hiker/camper/climber to everyone I showed it to. The FRN handle makes this also one of the more affordable spydies, so there shouldn’t be too many tears and curses, were I to lose this knife.

Cutting
Cutting-wise, I didn’t have any troubles with the ‘blunted’ tip design. I am used to working with wharncliffes and holding the Salt I as if it were a big Kiwi, allows you to do just a much fine point-work. When pointing the tip forward, you will notice that the tip aligns up nicely with your forearm, much like a Yojimbo. Just don’t think of the tip as being rounded and use it like it has a regular tip-design and you won’t even notice the difference.

salt_spyderco_blade

Handling
This knife looks a lot like a Delica, but the handling is way better. Enlarging the thumb-hole and adding grooves behind the hole for the thumb, is just what the Delica needs in its forthcoming design-update. The H-1 steel holds up just as well as Spyderco’s AUS-6, at least that is how I perceive it. I can imagine the serrated variant to fare much better in the edge holding department.

salt_spyderco_closed

Conclusion
This knife will replace my trusty Ti Salsa for travel. It is more affordable, lighter and it gives me the same 3 inches of blade I carry everyday, and it looks more like the knife of a holiday maker, as opposed to the downright ‘weird’ –but harmless- look of the Salsa. Something tells me a serrated yellow Salt is in my future for left-handed carry 😉

2 Responses to Review: Salt I SE Yellow

  1. Felix says:

    Great review 🙂 I got a Dragonfly 2 Salt in PE also because it seems more “versatile” in use. However I think shorter blades could add oomph with a serrated edge and serrated H1 seems to be the rage! How’s the edge retention? It’s said sharpening overtime will improve it. Is this your experience as well?

    • Edge retention has been excellent so far. I’m not a real steel junkie but subjectively I’d rate edgeholding to have been on par with VG-10 from the start. It does seem to hold its edge a bit longer now.

Leave a Reply

