Spyderco Calendar Contest

The calendar contest on the spyderco forums is over. I didn’t win, but I applaud the winners – there were some really nice entries from my fellow forumites. Since the contest is over, I figured I’d share my photoselection here – to at least show some fresh content.

Kopa
The contest started just as I was preparing for my vacation. That and taking care of a 1omonth old, seriously limits one’s free time for something as trivial as taking pictures of knives 😉 . Still, I managed to get an hour to set up this shot of my trusty tiger coral kopa. In the end I didn’t quite like the quality and composition. The butt of the knife isn’t as crisply shot as it should be and I felt the composition was to cluttered.

Salt 1
At my vacation address, a luxury farm house in the south of France, we had our own pool. I couldn’t resist trying to take a few shots of my Salt 1 in its natural environment. However the idea didn’t pan out, the macro shots and my lack of skills couldn’t make it clear that this was a really nice pool with a view. This one was funny, but should have been shot in murky outdoor water, it kind of looks like a crocodile in the water.

UKPK Drop Point
The UKPK Drop Point was my main carry folder throughout my vacation and I found two spots that made for some nice macro backgrounds. The garden of our farmhouse contained cherry and wallnut trees. I ended up using the last picture to enter the contest.

2 Responses to Spyderco Calendar Contest

  1. Andrea Fisher says:

    Hi,
    I am DESPERATE to find a Kopa Tiger Coral. I have checked every website and I have found only 2. One is at Knivesman…which is non-existant anymore as I ordered the knife and never received it or any response. The other is in Germany. I am hesitant to wire money. Please help. I’ll pay anything.My son is very ill and only needs the tiger coral to complete his collection. Thank you

  2. I’m sorry but I can’t help you direct. Wiring money should not be necessary for a reliable dealer, credit card should be just fine. You could also check Ebay, Spyderco directly or any of the knife forums, see the links on the right under ‘discussion forums’

Leave a Reply

