Spyderco Ed Schempp Persian with red G10 handle

I missed out on a sprint run or two, but this time I got lucky and got one early. After playing with my sample for a few days I must say that it´s a really nice piece, even though it´s probably not going to be a hard user in my collection (I prefer smaller folders for EDC). It´s a perfect piece for a photo shoot though. I decided to try the 1024 X 768 format. I just hope the majority of viewers don´t have to scroll to see the full image. Please leave a comment to me know what you think about the larger photo-format.

 

I like the smooth G10 scales a lot, the polishing reveals a nice wave pattern in the G10. It makes G10 almost look like a natural handle material. The red is not super bright, but it´s a definitely brighter than burgundy.

 

The liners are skeletonized and the clip is nicely polished. I do miss the gold bug on the blade and clip of the original Persian. I know the gold bug on the blade never held up well, but it would look great on this blade. The overall fit and finish is simply superb. By touch, I can’t feel the divides between the various parts.

 

And yes, the accessories in these photos are other examples of Ed´s artistry. A few of his damascus tiles, the same Damascus he also used for the bolsters in the 25th anniversary Delica. The damascus belt buckle is my wife´s, and it´s also made by Ed.

 

As nice as this piece is, I would really have liked to see this red g10 handle on the mini Persian. Thankfully we can look forward to ´regular´ full flat grind versions of the Persian and Mini Persian. I´ll definitely pick up a g10 FFG Mini Persian. This one makes a nice fancy carry piece, despite the ´mundane´ G10 handle.

5 Responses to Spyderco Ed Schempp Persian with red G10 handle

  1. MyKnife says:

    Beautiful knife! Nice micarta color too.

  2. Nuke says:

    Where can I purchase the full size persian is it going to be available to anyone?

    • It was available as a sprint run to the general public, most dealers had a few. I’m not sure if any online dealer still has one. You could always ask any of the major online dealers or check with Spyderco directly.

  3. Eric G says:

    This has to be one of my favorite knives, I did miss out on getting one in red……I will get one somehow. I also like your damascus piece, very nice. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Gary G Carnevale Sr says:

    This is one of my favorite Sprints. The G-10 scales are unique, and I love the blade. A future collector for sure, safe queen to say the least. Thanks

Leave a Reply

