Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Yojimbo 2

The Yojimbo 2 is hefty and stout interpretation of the whanrcliffe folder. It’s light but felt very solid in the hand. I love the melted edges on the handle. I just thought that it’s almost a pity that I don’t have a real need for an MBC folder when Sal talked about how the Yojimbo 2 (as opposed to the Yojimbo 1) would also make a good EDC folder.

The G10 handle is shorter than the first Yojimbo, but still long enough for my hands. In the closed position I could still use the knife as an impact weapon. The opening action was fast and slick and my hand almost automatically slipped into Janich’s preferred grip with the thumb resting on the spine. I am curious why the divot hole was abandoned. The first Yojimbo had it and I liked that feature.

 

The blade seemed a bit thicker than on the Yojimbo 1, but this blade still seemed more than sharp enough to perform its task. Even though I kind of abandoned MBC knife for my personal EDC, I’m tempted to get this one.

5 Responses to Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Yojimbo 2

  1. Speedyfish says:

    I posted a video of Michael Janich talking about his changes to the Yojimbo at Bluesheepdog.com. It was filmed at the 2011 SHOT Show.

  2. Thanks, I’ll hope to be talking to Mr. Janich about the yojimbo 2 next week at the IWA show in Germany. I’ll definitely bring my videocamera as well.

  3. Michael says:

    I’m interested in purchasing or pre-ordering this knife. Is it available for purchase yet?

Leave a Reply

