Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Upgraded Spring for FRN Slipits

This new part, pictured below the FRN Slipit, is part of Spyderco’s constant quality improvement or CQI. The blade on the FRN models closed to easily for many customers so the Spydercrew looked at it and decided that the backspring needed some improvement. This ‘forked’ spring offers just the right kind of resistance.

You don’t have to worry about dirt getting in there; the fork only opens when the folder is opened, when the blade is closed the fork compresses so nothing can get stuck in there. To give you an impression of the effectiveness of this new spring; when I tried to one-hand close this knife, I dropped it. I didn’t expect this resistance on an FRN slipit. I just hope I can backorder a handful of these springs to upgrade my collection of FRN slipits.

3 Responses to Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Upgraded Spring for FRN Slipits

  1. Cetateanu Marius says:

    Greetings,
    Do you know if from now on Spyderco will produce FRN slipits with this new improved spring ? Or do I have to buy it separatly and replace it myself ? I would prefer to buy with this spring from the factory !
    I love these slipits alot and this was the only factor that stoped me purchasing a few, till now.
    I would be very gratefull if you could give me some details.
    Sincerely yours,
    ing.Marius Cetateanu

    • All FRN Slipits should be getting the new spring from now on. It’s more difficult to predict when they have entered the distribution chain, so that you know you’ll get one when you order a new UKPK FRN Slipit. I asked the Spydercrew about ordering the spring seperately, but that was not possible. Your best bet is to contact the SFO and ask them about the new FRN Slipits with the improved stiffer spring.

  2. […] is noticeably stiffer than my other FRN UKPK slipits. However, The Squeak doesn’t feature the forked spring that was announced for all new slipits back in March at the Amsterdam Meet. The spring in this subcompact slipit is easily on par with my […]

Leave a Reply

