Spyderco PPT Review

The PPT appealed to me for two reasons: I really like Fred Perrin Spyderco collaborations, and my growing need carry just one folder.

I’ve been a fan of the Spyderco Perrin collaborations since the Streetbowie came out. I’ll admit I’ve had issues with the sheath, but the knife still is something special. The Streetbowie and Streetbeat (and IMO even the Boker Perrin Neckbowie) kind of look like kitchen knives, but they’re capable of much more than that. I like to think of the PPT as a folding Streetbeat. Another reason for me to consider the PPT is that lately I find myself wanting to carry just one folder. I usually carry two folders; one plain edged and one serrated or one larger and one smaller folder. However, over a year ago I became a father and I find myself carrying a lot more stuff with me than I used to. Carrying just one folder would be more comfortable. I thought this Perrin collaboration could be a good single do-all folder.

Heft
The PPT is different from most Spydies, since Spyderco rarely puts out such a thick and hefty folder. My old large Wegner is reminiscent of the PPT, but still way too heavy for my tastes. The PPT also reminds me of the Stretch 2, but the Perrin collaboration is much a more solid and possibly stronger design. The PPT maybe heavier than an FRN folder, but it’s definitely not too heavy.

Blade
The blade stock seems to stay a little thicker all the way to the tip than most spydies. If I´m going to carry just one folder, I´d like one with a sturdy tip. I´m not a member of the so-called hard-use mafia, but knives get dropped and tips can get bent or broken. That doesn’t seem likely with this knife. The choil is a bit different than the average Spyderco choil. It’s less refined as on a Stretch 2 for example, but it does allow you to choke up on the PPT’s blade. The lock is fine by me. It engages just where I want it to, and it hasn’t moved a millimeter over the past few months.

Jimping
The Streetbowie’s familiar jimping along the spine is present on the PPT, but I must admit it’s a bit disappointing. It works, but barely. It’s just not as sharp and grippy as I would like. The straight layout of the jimping on the flat spine helps in this respect. My thumb just rests on the spine. If this was a ramp, like on a Caly 3.5, where you’re likely to exert more pressure on the jimping, I’d be very unhappy with the PPT.

Handle
The scalloped G10 handle is very nice and different. One advantage of a thick handle is that it gives you something solid to hang on to. The PPT is definitely a fistful of knife. The pattern on the handle is comfortable and grippy and doesn’t cause any hotspots on my hands. Looking inside the handle I found that the liners were actually skeletonized. The combination of titanium and the holes in the liners account for the knife’s reasonable weight.

Clip
The clip is another part of the knife I’m not too crazy about. The flared pointy end is kind of sharp. And it makes it harder to carry the knife under a belt. The flared clip gives too much resistance for a smooth draw in this carry position. The lanyard that comes with the knife, which I took off, definitely had a purpose. You tug on the lanyard and then proceed to grip the handle and draw the knife. The clip does work great in the right front pocket, and that’s how I carry it. The grey deep carry clip is pretty low profile; it never gets any looks or remarks.

Gripping the clip on the jimped part doesn’t squeeze the clip tight to your pocket, like all other Spyderco wireclips tend to do. The draw is smooth and positive. For me, again, the jimping on the clip could be much sharper.

Use
The thing I like best about this Perrin design is the dropped edge. If you hold the knife point forward edge out, you´ll notice that the edge is somewhat below your knuckles. Like a good kitchen knife, this enables you to use the edge for cutting on a board. But I appreciate this feature in all cutting tasks. Being the only folder I carry, the PPT gets used for pretty much everything: food prep, opening boxes, opening wrappers, cutting cords and … entertainment. When I got bored one afternoon I took out my PPT and started cutting up soda cans and chopping plastic water bottles in two. The PPT handled all these cutting tasks with the proverbial aplomb.

Using the PPT in public among non-knife people presented no problems either. I cut up some fruit for my daughter in a shopping mall and helped open a few packages in public and cut some strings etc… for her. Nobody seemed to bat an eye. Passing the knife to some of my NKP relatives garnered comments like ‘it’s solid and hefty’ and ‘kind of looks like a small kitchen knife but heavier’. The PPT does look like a plain working type knife.

I’m very happy with the knife’s performance. S30V is a fine steel with good edge retention. It can go two months -with my uses- before it needs sharpening. It is a bit handle-heavy on some finer chores, but I appreciate that heft when hacking through some vines in my yard. That’s the crux of a single do-all folder. Sooner or later you’ll have to compromise.

Overall
Two things could make the PPT a perfect folder for me; use the hourglass clip seen on many other Spydies and make the jimping sharper. As it is, the PPT is a very nice folder. The knife’s design, heft and blade inspire confidence. It’s a solid hard use folder with plain kitchen-knife type looks.

4 Responses to Spyderco PPT Review

  1. Dr. Neményi,Péter says:

    Dear Vouter,

    thank you for the exhaustive review of this knife; I for one also own one and haven’t had any problems with it so far. I’m also very happy with the performance of this collaboration.

    Kind regards:

    Peter from Budapest

  2. Dr. Neményi,Péter says:

    P.S. From what I’ve read on other forums, the liners on the production models are sand-blasted steel, not titanium. But it really doesn’t matter for me. Keep up the excellent work you perform with this page.

    Regards: Peter

  3. […] scales are 3d machined to fit the hand and the orange g10 details are extremely cool. Like the PPT, the Rubicon is more like a folder with a titanium integral lock, with some extra scales over it, […]

Leave a Reply

