9/11/2012 – Spyderco WTC Memorial Knife

It’s become sort of tradition for me to take out my Spyderco WTC knife for carry and use on this day. It’s hard for me to imagine that it’s been 11 years since that day in 2001. In case you are not familiar with this knife, check out this article on Spydiewiki to learn about the knife and the man who inspired it. The WTC skyline inlay is made from a beam from one of the towers. These inlays were never intended for use in a knife, and despite the treatment and coatings by Spyderco, these inlays can and will rust. Mine has survived pretty well. I carried this knife with pride and a bit of contemplation today.

I prepared this photo yesterday, right after my girls were safe and sound in their beds. I just caught the last beams of the setting sun. It made for a nice effect, there’s a golden glow all over the knife, but I definitely need more practice to shoot photos in direct sunlight.

7 Responses to 9/11/2012 – Spyderco WTC Memorial Knife

  1. Ben Maarse says:

    That seems to become a good tradition and it’s a very nice way to keep remembering what happened 11 years ago. Compliments for the beautifull picture you’ve taken in the evening, keep this up!!
    CuttingEdge..

  2. Aussie collector says:

    Amazing knife .. What would that be worth today? Any idea? As a veteran I’d love to acquire one

    • I have no idea what the value could be, I’m not into the part of collecting that deals with value, investments, and reselling etc…If I resell for example, I prefer to do that in person and on a handshake so to speak. I am also not sure how often one turns up on Ebay.

  3. […] I tend to carry those knives only on special occasions. This WTC memorial knife is one of them. Every 9/11 I take it out of its wooden box, wipe the protective grease of the inlay and blade, shoot a […]

  4. […] I tend to carry those knives only on special occasions. This WTC memorial knife is one of them. Every 9/11 I take it out of its wooden box, wipe the protective grease of the inlay and blade, shoot a […]

  5. […] 9/11/2012 – Spyderco WTC Memorial Knife […]

Leave a Reply

