Spyderco Centofante Memory – Something Special

The Spyderco Centofante Memory is dedicated to the memory of knifemaking legend Frank Centofante. He passed away in 2009; a year after my father’s passing (nearly to the day). It took my dad some time to warm up to my knife collecting hobby. I tried getting him a good knife a few times, but it was the Spyderco Centofante 3 that eventually became his EDC. It’s in my collection now, but it’s not a knife I really ‘enjoy’ carrying. The Centofante Memory is a fitting tribute to Frank Centofante, but for me, also to my dad.

Click for a full size image in a new window

My father carried his Centofante 3 all the time and used it for everything, even chores that were not intended for knives. Cleaning, oiling and sharpening the lightweight folder were chores left to me. He had the knife on him the day he died. My mother gave me his folder and I guess I spent almost a week with that knife non-stop every evening; washing, cleaning, polishing, oiling, sharpening, washing, cleaning, polishing, oiling, sharpening etc… It was the only Centofante model in my collection and I still don’t consider it mine. I had been eyeing the Wharncliffe version to be my own Centofante Spydie, but when I handled the Memory prototype I knew that would be it.

Click for a full size image in a new window

Blade
The blade is regular VG-10, so it’s easy to sharpen and it won’t stain or rust with a little maintenance. The line in the blade near the tang, revealing the flat grind, is almost hidden when the knife is opened. I think this is a classy and nice looking touch that reminds me of the Li’l Temperance.

The opening hole is smaller than I usually like, but that’s the norm for many Spyderco blades without a hump. Since I’m a lefty, it doesn’t even matter to me. I open the knife left-handed using the tip of my middle finger. That way I can flick the blade open like flicking away a cigarette for example. It’s fast and fun. The blade slamming on the stop pin hasn’t caused the liner to move since I got the knife a few months ago.

Click for a full size image in a new window

Handle
The Memory’s lines are clean and seem very straight. However, a subtle curve in the handle makes all the difference. The knife handles really well, not like a straight titanium stick at all. The silver–colored woven-glass fiber onlay is a striking contrast with the blue anodized titanium handle. The scale has a highly polished finish, and it can scratch more easily than e.g. the carbon fiber handles that Spyderco uses these days. I actually put one deep scratch on it in the first month of use. It doesn’t show in daily use because of the weave pattern. I suppose I could polish it out easy enough, but I kind of like it. It makes the knife a user.

All the corners on the handle have been rounded, smoothed and polished. The straight no-frills/no-feature handle has revealed something to me. It’s very user friendly in ALL grips. Puukko fans will know what I mean. A curved handle or finger cutouts in a handle are great, but they limit versatility in gripping the knife. The Centofante grips just as good (or bad depending on your point of view) in any grip. No features also mean no limitations when the knife is in an alternate grip (upside down) for example. That means I can move the edge in any direction and position I want for a cut without compromising my grip. Not that I’m cutting so much intricate chores every day, but I noticed how easy it is to transition to a good grip for cutting away and towards me in the same chore. It’s a kind of refined simplicity.

The handle features a full length decorated spacer that mimics file work. It is refreshing to see a full spacer in a modern linerlock. A welcome change after many generations of tactical folders with open handles.

Click for a full size image in a new window

Fit & finish
The knife feels both light and solid in the hand. The action is proverbially smooth as glass. The blue Ti liner engages the tang just right and lock-up is solid. There is no blade play whatsoever in any direction in my sample of the Memory. Fit and finish are on par with my Spyderco Kopas, if not better. It is good to keep in mind that the anodized titanium finish is not as durable as your run of the mill G-10 or FRN handle. The titanium itself is certainly as durable, if not more, than G-10 or FRN. However, the anodized finish can scratch or wear down. BTW an excellent method to revive those vibrant blue colors on the anodizing, after weeks of use and pocket carry, is to clean it with Windex or a similar product.

Click for a full size image in a new window

Use

The blade is a great cutter; it’s been a good universal-opener of packaging (cutting paper envelopes and plastic bags of all types) and a wonderful fruit knife. After repeated testing, thank to my daughter, I also found that the Memory also easily cuts the tops of Popsicle ice creams (to open the plastic wrapper). Mind you, it cuts the ice; it doesn’t wedge and break it.

From a cosmetic point of view, the clip –Spyderco’s regular silver hourglass clip- did seem a bit odd with the rest of the lines. But in the hand, this clip really matches the overall feel of the design. It’s a solid and smooth cutting tool and the clip just feels right. The knife looks pretty, but in handling, carrying and use I realized it is something special. It’s tough to put into words and pictures. When using the Memory, it has the same touch of quality you would find in a Rolex watch or a Mont Blanc Pen for example.

Click for a full size image in a new window

Conclusion
This knife is not for everyone. You can get a utility folder that’s lighter and has a more high-performance steel. There are many options that are cheaper too. The generous access to the linerlock, straight lines and smooth handle surface make this knife less than ideal for any sort of tactical or MBC use. It’s also not a collectible per se. It’s far too useful and practical to put it in your collection gathering dust. The Memory is something special, even more so when you use it. I’ve got a generous collection of spydies that I collected and used for the past 15 years or so, and this seemingly simple design has me very excited.

Click for a full size image in a new window

One Response to Spyderco Centofante Memory – Something Special

  1. […] where I had to ‘dress up’. Why not match the pocket jewellery, right? Pictured are the Spyderco Centofante Memory, Surefire Pen II in blue and a Spyderco Ladybug Tattoo & Victorinox […]

Leave a Reply

