Spyderco 2013 Concept Model – Chaparral 3

Something new for this year’s Amsterdam Meet was the fact that some of the knives that I could publish still had a ‘concept model’ designation on the accompanying tag. In previous years, you could only publish ‘production prototypes’ and not ‘concept models’. This Chaparral came with a tag on the table that said ‘concept model’.

Click for a full size image in a new window

This is the third Chaparral in the series. All Chaparral designs are made in Taiwan, feature the same CTS XHP blade steel, the same lock and the same blade. However, every edition will feature a new handle material – or variation thereof, I guess. Like the previous Stealth Chaparral, this one featured a titanium handle. The decorated pattern on this Chaparral 3 blew my proverbial mind! I hope it comes across in the pics, but in real life this was really impressive to me. It’s like someone studied Escher’s works for inspiration. Considering all the machining needed for this pattern – I wouldn’t expect this one to come cheap. Still, this would be an awesome collector piece! I want one!

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

Click for a full size image in a new window

For the Chaparral 3 concept model the approximate specifications are:

Blade length: 7,3 cm / 2.87 inch
Overall Length: 16 cm / 6.29 inch

2 Responses to Spyderco 2013 Concept Model – Chaparral 3

  1. Jazz1 says:

    Sweet! I really like the pattern on the scales. I think I’d take the clip off so I could admire the pattern on both sides.

  2. Ben says:

    For me I want to compare this one with the Month Blanc Brand…. Why?? Because I call this model a “Meisterstuck” but!!

Leave a Reply

