Spyderco Lum Tanto Sprint Home Run

This is why I LOVE Spyderco sprint runs. I never got around to snagging the Bob Lum designed fixed blade Tanto when Spyderco produced it many years ago. As is so often the case, I only discovered the beauty of this blade when I couldn’t get one. So when I saw the prototype for this knife laying on the table at the Amsterdam Meet, I certainly took note. A year or so later and I managed to score one.

lumtanto_spyderco

I’m very happy with this sprint run version. To me, the burgundy paperstone handle is way prettier than the original black micarta. I will admit that this design isn’t the most practical for my uses, so the Tanto won’t see any real use with me. However, if I were still involved in traditional Japanese martial arts, I would have taken this knife along for demonstrations and such.

lumtanto_spyderco_bladereverse

For a collector, sometimes using is not needed to appreciate a knife. The Lum Tanto’s grind lines are very nice and it’s a stunning piece to look at. The workmanship is certainly top notch; from the polish of the blade all the way to the stitching in the sheath. This knife is one of the highlights of my display case, and sometimes that’s more than enough. Well, that and the hunt for the next knife!

lumtanto_spyderco_reverse

lumtanto_spyderco_blade

One Response to Spyderco Lum Tanto Sprint Home Run

  1. That buffed paperstone handle looks amazing, much nicer than the original IMO. Not sure what use I would have for the Lum Tanto but I am not sure if I will be able to resist getting one- great pictures as always!

Leave a Reply

