Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Tuff

I do believe it’s been about 7 years when I first saw the Tuff concept model, it looked promising but the concept model had always been fairly ‘rough’. This prototype looks pretty well finished to me.

I like the spiky scale with the Reeve Integral Lock, it’s grippy but didn’t seem too sharp. It didn’t seem likely to rip open my hand or anything. It’s big and massive. The fuller looks really cool, and I’m quite anxious to try it out, see how it cuts. The Tuff also makes me want to do overstrikes and spinewhacks; I’m curious just how tough this knife is. I have one major complaint though, the jimping on the spine and inside the choil is –to me- simply too smooth. It doesn’t match up with the grippy G10 scale and the spiked back plate. The knife screams ‘hard use’ folder, and it seems logical to me that you want it to stick to your hand. The jimping is an important interface with the hand. Why not make the jimping nice and deep, like on the Paramilitary 2 for example?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.