Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Techno

The Techno is a little tank-like folder reminiscent of the Leafstorm. Just because the folder is short, is no reason for it not to be built like a tank. The ergos were nice. I do hope the production model will have a polished blade, rather than the bead blasted blade on this prototype. I’d also prefer a tip-up option for the clip.

 

6 Responses to Spyderco 2011 Prototype – Techno

  1. Bill Clark says:

    that’s not “bead blasted”. it’s stone washed.

    • Well, it has been over 3 years ago. But I seem to recall the blade on this prototype having a rough finish, not the typical stonewash finish. The production version, of course, has a polished stonewash finish.

  2. JM99 says:

    What kind of bead is the blue bead in the pics here? Where did you get it? What is it made of?

    Thanks!

    • Hi there, I didn’t get this bead as it’s a photo I took of the original Spyderco prototype of the Techno Prototype. I believe that piece was made by Marcin Slysz as a custom piece and I’d guess he added the bead. This knife is not mine, sadly, as Spyderco prototypes are never sold to the public.

  3. JM99 says:

    Thanks for the reply!

  4. Stace Smith says:

    Oddly enough I bead blasted my polished blade. Lol

    I scuffed up my blade by accident and it was driving me crazy. Love the polished blade though… especially on the Bowie.

    Cheers!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.