Spyderco 2012 Prototype – Chaparral Titan Stealth

The Chaparral Titan Stealth was apparently the first design for the Chaparral series. Unfortunately, only now the maker can pull it off. The tips and dips of the facets in the titan handle are only ten thousands of an inch high or deep, depending on your point of view. Eric explained that the stop pin actually pushes into the blade, resulting in a tight lock-up.

It’s a stunning piece. I didn’t care much for the Chaparral line, but this will be part of my collection and EDC. The little knife feels great in the hand and the thin blade should be an excellent cutter. I also got the impression the jimping on the blade was cut a bit sharper than my other Taichung made knives, which is a good thing in my book.

6 Responses to Spyderco 2012 Prototype – Chaparral Titan Stealth

  1. cuttingedge says:

    And I can understand why 🙂 🙂

  2. Jack says:

    Great pictures. I’m very interested in this knife. Do you know the weight? Are the pictures what is actually going to be released? Sometimes the prototype knives look different than the final product. I love the appearance of this knife and normally they look better in person than the pictures.

    The CF Chaparral had an issue of grittyness when opening on mine as well as several others. I never heard what the problem was but the problem went away on mine after a lot of opening/closing. Is there any issue like this on the Ti model? Did you see the gritty issue I’m talking about on the CF knife?

    Thanks
    Jack

    • Thanks for checking out the pictures. I have no specs on this Chaparrall edition. The pictures are very indicative of the final product, that’s why Spyderco shows production prototypes and not concept models. I’m not familiar with the issue as I don’t own the CF Chaparall I did not detect any grittyness in this prototype. I can’t tell if that’s due to improved manufacturing or the fact that this proto must have gone through a lot of hands.

  3. […] Glesser presents the new Chaparall Titan Stealth, at this year’s IWA show in Germany. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  4. […] Chaparral Titan Stealth, Brad Southard Folder, Caly 3.5 ZDP189/CF […]

  5. […] to knives with mere gizmos and cosmetic features, as opposed to pure performance designs. The Titan Stealth prototype I handled at the Amsterdam Meet was one of those new designs that instantly pressed the ‘want’ button in my brain, which is […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.