Spyderco 2014 Production Prototype – Michael Burch Chubby

The Chubby prototype, designed by Michael Burch, was one of my personal favorites from this year’s meet. Apparently, Michael Burch has been making this design for some time and it’s been refined over the years. The dual beveled blade allows for very easy penetration.

This knife reminded me a bit of the Spyderco Poliwog, which I’ve carried for a few years as an EDC. The Chubby is much more beefy and fills the hand even better. The titanium handle and integral lock make for a relatively lightweight folder. I think the all steel Poliwog was heavier. The knife handled very well. I think the circular inserts are carbon fiber. I’m usually not a fan of custom makers’ clip designs, versus Spyderco designed clips, but this clip turned out well. It wasn’t too sharp and didn’t pinch the hand in my grips. After I was done taking these photos, I made a mental note to put the Chubby on my wishlist.

The approximate specifications of the Chubby prototype are:

Overall Length:  15,1 cm / 5.94 inches
Edge Length: 5,7cm / 2.24 inches
Blade Length: 5,7 cm / 2.24 inches
Blade Thickness: 0,4 cm / 0.16 inches

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_blade_1

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_lock

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_blade_2

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_clip

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_handle

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_spacer

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_handlespine

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_inhand

spyderco_amsterdammeet2014_productionprototype_chubby_clipside

6 Responses to Spyderco 2014 Production Prototype – Michael Burch Chubby

  1. JR says:

    Wow, that is definitely going on my must have list. Only downside is non-reversible clip.
    BTW, thanks for a great website!

  2. […] Chubby Michael Burch design Production Prototype A lot of belly and a false edge for nice looking little big knife. But I did not get any vibes from this one… I did not like the clip at all as it is ready to scratch the car’s paint. Pictures are here: https://spydercollector.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/spyderco-2014-production-prototype-michael-burch-chu… […]

  3. […] Burch Chubby, Dice, Panchenko Dog Tag Folder   […]

  4. […] Burch Chubby, Dice, Panchenko Dog Tag Folder   […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.