Spyderco 2017 Production Sample – Jonny Liao Hundred Pacer

The Hundred Pacer was a nice ‘odd’ surprise to me at the meet. I actually googled some pictures of the knife’s slithering namesake, and I have to admit that the knife’s handle pattern and upswept blade really look a lot like the snake. The knife was big and looked very unusual. The handle even looked a bit too blocky to me at first. Picking up the knife, however, made a lot of difference for me. This was a very light folder and that blocky handle seemed surprisingly versatile for different grips. I think Eric mentioned it in one of the SHOT show videos, and I agree that the Hundred Pacer seems to make a wonderful folding kitchen knife. I also like the G-10 pattern on the handle a lot. It’s very different from what Spyderco usually makes. Even though on paper this knife is a bit larger than I usually prefer, I might just add the Hundred Pacer to my wish list. 






 

 

Specifications
Overall Length:  23,5 cm / 9.25 inches
Blade Length: 10,5 cm / 4.13 inches
Blade Thickness: 3,5 mm / 0.13 inches
Weight: 147 grams / 5.18 ounces

3 Responses to Spyderco 2017 Production Sample – Jonny Liao Hundred Pacer

  1. Gorgeous blade, its as if the Spydiechef and Persian had a baby but those scales.. Eek.

    Definitely an odd duck.

  2. […] Chinook 4, D’Allara 3 Dog Tag Gen 4, Double Stuff, Fish Hunter Hatchethawk, Hanan, Hundred Pacer Jess Horn Grey G-1o, All-Black Karahawk, Lil’ Lum Nishijin Lil’ Nilakka, […]

  3. […] I haven’t cut much with it, just opening envelopes and breaking down cardboard for recycling. One kitchen cutting session did enlighten me about the possibilities of this blade shape for food prep. I might yet have to get that Hundred Pacer. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.