Spyderco C141 Balance

Ed Schempp was known to Spyderco fans as the designer of solid full size folding knives like the Persian, Kris and Barong when the C141 Balance came out in 2010. Contrary to those other designs, the Balance is very small, almost tiny. However, like those other designs, the C141 features the same refined ergonomics that make it work really well. I recently clipped the Balance in my pocket again and was pleasantly surprised to rediscover this little gem in my collection.

I wrote about the Balance before, and I can’t add much to those impressions from 2011. I’m mostly a little disappointed in myself that I don’t carry it more often. Alas, but that is the ‘curse’ of the collector; always seeking out a new design to satisfy both the hunt and curiosity to see if there is a better knife out there.

The Balance is a classy gentleman’s knife, especially my customized version from Ed Schempp himself. I’d love to see a more ‘pedestrian’ version, e.g., in a sprint run or exclusive, with G10 grips for example. Just to see how it would feel and work as a more regular EDC folder. The Balance is still one of the smallest clipped folding knives in Spyderco’s line-up and that makes it unique.

It’s as small as a fingernail, but you can get a solid grip on it and put it to all sorts of everyday cutting chores. If you can find one, I absolutely recommend that you try it out for yourself!

See more details of the C141 Balance on Spyderco’s website and on SpydieWiki. You can also see more photos of my customized Balance in this post. And see the C141 prototype in this post and this video.

One Response to Spyderco C141 Balance

  1. […] Read the whole thing at Spydercollector.com […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.