Spyderco Meerkat: a fun and functional little folder

Spyderco has been designing little big knives for quite some time now. The Co-Pilot was probably one of the first, followed by the Dragonfly, Cricket, Pegasus and Navigator models. I never really liked the Navigator, as I felt there were too many sharp corners on the handle. The Navigator pattern has evolved in the Spyderco line-up into the Navigator 2 and the Meerkat. The latter has steadily been growing on me with those wonderfully colored sprint runs.

The Meerkat features the phantom lock that’s housed in relatively thick FRN handle scales. The dimples and corners in the FRN handle make the Navigator a very ergonomic knife to use, especially for its size. The FRN Meerkat handle is a welcome improvement over the sharp thin aluminum scales of my Almite Navigator. The Meerkat can be noticeable to carry due to its thickness. However, that extra thickness also makes the knife easier to use and it helps to easily manipulate the phantom lock.

I received a Reverse S serrated Meerkat for Christmas many years ago. It was a wonderful piece, but I have little use for a reverse S blade shape in daily use. It’s a nice addition to my collection, to be admired and only occasionally carried. The blue sprint run that came out few years ago instantly pushed the Meerkat in my EDC rotation. The drop point full flat ground blade proved much more useful for my daily cutting tasks. The NKP friendly color and phantom lock also made the blue sprint run Meerkat a great conversation piece. The Burgundy sprint run seems to be the same as the blue sprint run, except for the color.

I did encounter one problem with my new Burgundy Meerkat when I wanted to switch the clip for left-handed carry. Two screw-holes in the FRN scale did not match up with the holes in the steel liner underneath. It was impossible to screw the clip on the left-side of the handle. I was able to fix it by carefully filing out the FRN to provide clear access for the tiny screws through the steel liner. The heads on the screws hide the enlarged holes in the FRN. Functionally and cosmetically, no-one will realize there was anything wrong with the knife. Now, I was able to fix it because I’m a stubborn knifeknut with a collection of miniature files, screwdrivers etc…A regular lefty knife user would have probably had to ship the knife back for a replacement.

The Meerkat sprint run is a great cutter and even better conversation piece. It’s one of the knives that have proven to be a welcome sight at family birthday parties when there are presents that need a little help opening. It gets the kind of reaction that a Titanium Military just can’t match. 😉

How do you like your Meerkat?

3 Responses to Spyderco Meerkat: a fun and functional little folder

  1. I have a black reverse S plain edge in my EDC rotation, I like it. It is a real good cigar cutter too (just like the Cricket, BTW).
    I’m a great fan of burgundy Spydercos (I often carry a burgundy Goddard and a burgundy micarta Jester too), so I will by this new Meerkat Sprint Run too…

  2. Nathan says:

    Old post I know but it came up in search…I have a MeerKat with a reverse “s” -plain- edge, too. Any idea when it was made or how common? Thanks.

    • The reverse S Meerkats, both PE and SE, were made around 2002-2003. I don’t have any numbers, but I do seem to see that type of Meerkat a lot less frequent than the drop point versions.

Leave a Reply

