Spyderco 2016 Production Sample – Sage 5

I’ll admit that I’m not the world biggest Sage-fan, but this compression lock equipped Sage did look interesting. The peel-ply finish on the handle was nice and grippy, but still smooth enough for easy IWB carry. The compression lock is, IMHO, a hallmark of Spyderco innovation so it is absolutely a worthy candidate for the Sage series that celebrates knife-locks.

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_blade_1

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_blade_2

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_clip

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_closed

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_inhand_1

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_inhand_2

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_profile

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_lock

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_pivot

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_lanyardhole

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_ramp

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_hole

spyderco_amsterdammeet2016_productionsample_sage5_clipside

Specifications
Overall Length: 18 cm / 7.08 inches
Blade Length: 8 cm / 3.14 inches
Blade Thickness: 3 mm / 0.11 inches
Weight: 89 grams / 3.13 ounces

11 Responses to Spyderco 2016 Production Sample – Sage 5

  1. […] the Bob Lum Chinese Folder in the Lil’ Lum. The latest addition to the long-running Sage series, the Sage 5, features Spyderco’s own Compression Lock, nested liners, and textured carbon fiber scales. In […]

  2. Now this definitely interested in. I’m not a big fan of back locks because they make closing the blade different with one hand. Love the compression locks on the Para 2 and Yojimbo. Like this design alot.

  3. […] Click here for a more detailed look at the Spyderco Sage 5 production sample. […]

  4. […] Spyderco Compression Lock models. At this year’s annual gathering, the company confirmed that the Sage 5, the Ouroboros, and the ATR Compression locking knives will all be entering production. “We are […]

  5. MArk says:

    Why spyderco no knives for most European laws?
    Either short or very long. In Europe it is 8.5 cm standard length.
    It is a pity there is no knife with a long blade.
    Lightweight and looks peacefully – such as Calypso.
    Enduro is too long. Delica is too short.
    It should be an intermediate flat grein long blade 8.5 cm.

    • I’m not sure why, but why not ask spyderco directly, on their online discussion forum or any of their social media channels?

      • MArk says:

        I do not think that the leadership spyderсo interested in the opinion of Europeans. I posted here because I liked Sage 5 prototype.
        Why would it do 8.5 cm length of the blade?

        Knives with blades shorter type “native” is already a large pile.
        Why not do something new?

      • I think you’re wrong. Spyderco is very interested in the opinion of Europeans. They have made specific folding knife designs for the UK and Danish markets to conform to their changeing knifelaws. The Sage series, in which one of the prototype posts you’re posting, was designed to celebrate innovations in locking mechanisms. This makes this design platform unlikely to be used for a universally legal (and therefore non-locking) knife design. Spyderco is very approachable on their forums. Sal Glesser, Spyderco’s founder can be regularly found there.

  6. foxtrot-mike says:

    I just bought my Sage-5 yesterday (28-11-2016), I think I was lucky to get one of the ‘HP’ batch, they are selling out everywhere! I have had a Sage-1 for some time & really like the form-factor. However, although I have become quite adept at getting my fingers out of the way when closing the knife (right-handed) I have never really got comfortable closing the knife left-handed. One reason for my love affair with the Delica-4… A truly ambidextrous instrument! I tend to carry my knife in a satchel – with the ‘usual suspects’ – camera, iPod, pen, notepad &c. So fast deployment is not a concern. I think I will move the clip to the presentation side to give a more secure hold when closing the blade left-handed. Otherwise I think Sage #5 is, for me, #1 in the catalogue. Judging by the way it is disappearing off of the shelves -everywhere- many agree. Hats off to Spyderco for this version of the venerable Sage! 😉
    P.S. Guilty secret; I have just downloaded ALL of your pictures to drool over while I wait the 2 weeks or so for my purchase to arrive in rural Western Australia… 😮

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.