Spyderco Apple Coral Kopa & Red G10 Persian Sprint

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve already seen this picture, but I’d like to share a few more thoughts and experiences with these knives. I like nothing more than tailoring my EDC to the program of the day, or the season. And fall is an easy season for EDC-tailoring. In addition, with the heavier clothing of the season, it’s also easier to carry a heavier folding knife.

Spyderco Sprint Run Persian
I got the Sprint Run Persian in red G10 about 7 years ago. I happened to be visiting the SFO right on the day that this knife was released. I experienced one of those ‘electric jolts’ and uncontrollably pointed at the knife in the case and said something like: “Can I please check out that new Persian!” At the time, I’ve never held a knife with a smooth G10 handle. I also loved the red color that was previously only reserved for training knives. Awesome knife. I bought it on the spot.

For fall-carry, this Persian works great for me. The red handle evokes the changing colors of the season and the heavier weight works fine when carried IWB in jeans with a belt. As a bonus, the smooth G10 makes this knife very easy to draw and put back in the waistband or pocket. Cutting-wise, I didn’t have many challenges for the Persian when I carried it a few weeks ago. The larger blade helped cut a cake and I appreciated the curve when I helped out slicing & dicing in the kitchen later that evening. More of my experiences with the Persian can be found in this old review.

Check out Spydiewiki for more details on the Spyderco Persian.

Spyderco Apple Coral Kopa
The Apple Coral Kopa has also been a longtime companion for me. Its size and friendly color makes it a very nice non-knife-people-friendly knife. It has helped a few people over the years, to grasp my ‘insane fascination with knives’. I also frequently carry a Kopa at the office, for that same reason. Another reason is that it just works amazingly well, since I got my first Kopa many years ago. It’s like having a portable zipper for opening the mail and other packaging. On top of that it’s a great small folding paring knife for fruit snacks etc.… The coral is a porous material and I’m curious how it will hold up in the future. So far, it’s doing great.

Find out more about the Spyderco Kopa on Spydiewiki.com.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.